Jeremy Hilgar

Graduate Student

Email: jhilgar@ucsd.edu

Hometown: Las Vegas, Nevada

BS: Univ. of Nevada, Las Vegas

Google Scholar »

Yijun Xie

Graduate Student

Email: yix090@eng.ucsd.edu

Hometown: Shanghai, China

MS: Univ. of Alberta

Google Scholar »

Benjamin Zhou

Graduate Student

Email: bhzhou@eng.ucsd.edu

Hometown: Irvine, California

BS: Univ. of California, Irvine

Google Scholar »

Alex J Mantanona

Graduate Student

Email: amantano@ucsd.edu

Hometown: Oxnard, California

MS: California State Univ., Northridge

Google Scholar »

Maximilian G Bernbeck

Graduate Student

Email: mbernbec@ucsd.edu

Hometown: Seal Beach, California

BS: Univ. of California, Berkeley

Google Scholar »

Aaron K Butts

Graduate Student

Email: akbutts@ucsd.edu

Hometown: Houston, Texas

BS: Univ. of Houston, Texas

Google Scholar »

Tara Zand

Graduate Student

Email: tzand@ucsd.edu

Hometown: Tehran, Iran

BS: Univ. of California, San Diego

Google Scholar »

Subodh D Sonar

Master Student

Email: ssonar@eng.ucsd.edu

Hometown: Mumbai, India

BS: Institute of Chemical Technology

Google Scholar »


Undergraduate Researchers

Brandon Flores

Jonathan E Bussing

Nicholas H Tu


Group Alumni

Prof. Pius O. Adelani

- Email: padelani@stmarytx.edu - Assistant professor at St. Mary's University

An D. Nguyen

- Email: anlukenguyen@gmail.com - Analytical Chemist at Teknova, South San Francisco, CA

Alexandre Vincent

- Email: avincent@berkeley.edu - Graduate Student at University of California, Berkeley


Jeffrey Rinehart

Email: jrinehart@ucsd.edu

Office: Pacific Hall 4100E

Phone: (858) 822-6610

Fax: (858) 534-6255

Google Scholar »

Postdoctoral Scholar — University of Washington — Prof. Daniel R. Gamelin


PhD in Chemistry — UC Berkeley — Prof. Jeffrey R. Long
BA in Chemistry — Cornell University — Prof. Stephen Lee

Biography

Jeff grew up in Oconomowoc, WI, and, deciding it wasn't nearly cold and snowy enough, moved to Ithaca, NY to get his B.A. in Chemistry. While at Cornell, he worked in the lab of Prof. Stephen Lee on characterizing the elusive structures of a series of metal cyanide polymer catalysts using powder x-ray diffraction and density functional theory. After graduating in 2005, he moved to sunny California to work under Prof. Jeffrey Long at University of California, Berkeley. There, he became fascinated with both the f-elements and especially their magnetic properties, eventually receiving his doctorate with a dissertation entitled "Magnetic Exchange Coupling and Single-Molecule Magnetism in Uranium Complexes." Having heard the word "nano" bandied about with much reverence during his PhD, Jeff decided to move to rainy Seattle to work for Prof. Daniel Gamelin at the University of Washington on electronically and magnetically doped colloidal nanocrystalline semiconductors. Jeff was hired at UCSD as an assistant professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry in 2014. Outside of chemistry his hobbies include high-stakes mini golf, low-tech cryptography, and, more recently, (re)acquiring enough web design skill to (re)design this website.